Rob Weintraub’s Pac-12 Alumni Trophies

Rob Weintraub’s Pac-1 2 Alumni Trophies Vincent Verhei 19 Feb 2021, 11:16 am

Las Vegas Raiders T Kolton Miller

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony is more commonly known as the Ode to Joy. Weintraub’s Ninth Symphony–aka the one-ninth annual Alumni Awards, my selections for every season’s best NFL player from each of the Power 5 college programs–is similarly a joyful occasion that caps this football season. It’s a great way to approximate the health of the collegiate crews, the performance indicators of the volatility of the pro play, and, most of all, a enjoyable controversy starter.



2012: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England 2013: Nick Foles, QB, Philadelphia 2014: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England 2015: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England 2016: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England 2017: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England 2018: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England 2019: Reggie Gilbert, LB, Tennessee 2020: Rob Gronkowski, TE, Tampa Bay

The onetime Wildcat presence in the pros is so stagnant that Gronk came out off the retirement rack, didn’t do a ton with the Bucs except give Tom Brady a contact drunkard when he wanted to have fun by agent, then caught a couple of Super Bowl touchdowns to enable him to cruise to his seventh AAA( Arizona Alumni Award ), his first outside of Foxboro.


2012: Vontaze Burfict, LB, Cincinnati 2013: Terrell Suggs, DE, Baltimore 2014: Terrell Suggs, DE, Baltimore 2015: Vontaze Burfict, LB, Cincinnati 2016: Vontaze Burfict, LB, Cincinnati 2017: Terrell Suggs, DE, Baltimore 2018: Terrell Suggs, DE, Baltimore 2019: Lawrence Guy, DE, New England 2020: Lawrence Guy, DE, New England

Another strong time in the gutters for my chap Guy, giving him to cruise to another Pitchfork Award over feeble competition.


2012: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay 2013: Marshawn Lynch, RB, Seattle 2014: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay 2015: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay 2016: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay 2017: Cameron Jordan, DE, New Orleans 2018: Jared Goff, QB, Los Angeles Rams 2019: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay 2020: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay

As with their fellow Bay Area ballers in Stanford, the once-awesome array of talent flowing out of Berkeley has hindered, along with that of the entire Pac-1 2. Fortunately, the reliable Rodgers turned in an MVP season at age 37, proving the priorities in the talent base remained high, at least.


2012: Nate Solder, T, New England 2013: Mason Crosby, K, Green Bay 2014: Nate Solder, T, New England 2015: David Bakhtiari, T, Green Bay 2016: David Bakhtiari, T, Green Bay 2017: David Bakhtiari, T, Green Bay 2018: David Bakhtiari, T, Green Bay 2019: David Bakhtiari, T, Green Bay 2020: David Bakhtiari, T, Green Bay

Make it a full six-Bakh for the Pack left undertake, whose omission was surely felt where reference is missed the NFC title game to injury.


2012: Jairus Byrd, S, Buffalo 2013: Haloti Ngata, DT, Baltimore 2014: Max Unger, C, Seattle 2015: Max Unger, C, New Orleans 2016: Marcus Mariota, QB, Tennessee 2017: Marcus Mariota, QB, Tennessee 2018: Max Unger, C, New Orleans 2019: DeForest Buckner, DT, San Francisco 2020: Justin Herbert, QB, Los Angeles Chargers

Buckner had a astounding season for his new squad in Indy, and in most cases would have cruised to a poultry echo. But Herbert was equally impressive, as a rookie no less, and since he plays quarterback and the Alumni trophy is position-dependent, give the kid the Duck.


2012: Brandon Browner, CB, Seattle 2013: Keenan Lewis, CB, New Orleans 2014: Keenan Lewis, CB, New Orleans 2015: Brandin Cooks, WR, New Orleans 2016: Brandin Cooks, WR, New Orleans 2017: Johnny Hekker, P, Los Angeles Rams 2018: Steven Nelson, CB, Kansas City 2019: Jordan Poyer, S, Buffalo 2020: Brandin Cooks, WR, Houston

It’s not so easy to prevail an Alumni Trophy four years and four teams apart, so render Cooks his due for capturing the Beav very readily over Nelson and Poyer. Had Oregon State alum Mike Remmers been able to block anyone when pressed into Super Bowl duty for Kansas City, he might have had an argument. Alas.


2012: Andrew Luck, QB, Indianapolis 2013: Richard Sherman, CB, Seattle 2014: Andrew Luck, QB, Indianapolis 2015: Doug Baldwin, WR, Seattle 2016: Richard Sherman, CB, Seattle 2017: David DeCastro, G, Pittsburgh 2018: Andrew Luck, QB, Indianapolis 2019: Christian McCaffrey, RB, Carolina 2020: Andrus Peat, T, New Orleans

A rough year for Cardinal alums, with CMC and Sherman injured, tighten demises Zach Ertz and Austin Hooper disappointing, and redoubts such as DeCastro and Trent Murphy simply median. Worse, the geniu pipeline out of Palo Alto is diminishing. Peat tips-off out linebacker Blake Martinez by dint of playing a more valuable position for a better team.

UCLA( 28)

2012: Akeem Ayers, LB, Tennessee 2013: Datone Jones, DE, Green Bay 2014: Anthony Barr, LB, Minnesota 2015: Anthony Barr, LB, Minnesota 2016: Eric Kendricks, LB, Minnesota 2017: Anthony Barr, LB, Minnesota 2018: Myles Jack, LB, Jacksonville 2019: Eric Kendricks, LB, Minnesota 2020: Kolton Miller, T, Las Vegas

All it took was a relocation from California to Sin City for an offensive player to break the positional dominance at Linebacker U. Kendricks was in the hunt to tie up his Forever Teammate Barr at three Bruin Awards each, but Miller was better this season.

USC( 25)

2012: Clay Matthews, LB, Green Bay 2013: Ryan Kalil, C, Carolina 2014: Tyron Smith, T, Dallas 2015: Carson Palmer, QB, Arizona 2016: Tyron Smith, T, Dallas 2017: Everson Griffen, DE, Minnesota 2018: Jurrell Casey, DT, Tennessee 2019: Tyron Smith, T, Dallas 2020: Leonard Williams, DT, New York Giants

The downturn in L.A. has caused attrition in the pros, with 15 fewer Trojans earning a pro paycheck than did last season. Williams had a strong season plug the centre of the line for New York, constructing him the most difficult Man of Troy both figuratively and literally.

UTAH( 29)

2012: Paul Kruger, LB, Baltimore 2013: Alex Smith, QB, Kansas City 2014: Star Lotulelei, DT, Carolina 2015: Eric Weddle, S, San Diego 2016: Eric Weddle, S, Baltimore 2017: Alex Smith, QB, Kansas City 2018: Eric Weddle, S, Baltimore 2019: Star Lotulelei, DT, Buffalo 2020: Garrett Bolles, T, Denver

Certainly Smith was the maudlin choice to capture his first Big Red U since his disastrous leg hurt, but he was the 34 th-ranked quarterback by DYAR, so sentiment only carried so much weight. Lotulelei opted out of the running for a recur, leaving Bolles a relatively easy winner.


2012: Dashon Goldson, S, San Francisco 2013: Mason Foster, LB, Tampa Bay 2014: Desmond Trufant, CB, Atlanta 2015: Desmond Trufant, CB, Atlanta 2016: Marcus Peters, CB, Kansas City 2017: Budda Baker, S, Arizona 2018: Cory Littleton, LB, Los Angeles Rams 2019: Marcus Peters, CB, Baltimore 2020: Budda Baker, S, Arizona

Peters and Miami running back Myles Gaskin were in the hasten, but in the end Baker easily was the leading hound in the fight for the Husky.


2012: Brandon Gibson, WR, St. Louis 2013: Ryan Lindell, K, Tampa Bay 2014: Deone Bucannon, S, Arizona 2015: Deone Bucannon, LB, Arizona 2016: Deone Bucannon, LB, Arizona 2017: Deone Bucannon, LB, Arizona 2018: Deone Bucannon, LB, Arizona 2019: Gardner MInshew, QB, Jacksonville 2020: Gardner Minshew, QB, Jacksonville

Unlike last year, the only Minshew Mania in 2020 involved Jags love hysterical that Gardner’s poor play cured Jax wind up with Urban Meyer and( presumably) Trevor Lawrence. Still, he did fairly in half a season to easily capture the Cougars Alumni trophy.

Read more: footballoutsiders.com